Categories/ Security

Got an unexpected email from ‘LINE’? Even if it seems legit.

Don't trust that email without making sure it's for real! It could actually be a phishing scam.


How phishing scams work

“Phishing” refers to a scam where someone pretends to be a company or organization through emails, text messages, or search results that look like the real thing. Using those fake message, phishing scammers get you to visit websites that also look official, but in reality are just imitations, which they can then use to steal your personal information, credit card numbers, and more. 

Phishing scammers use a variety of tactics to make you believe they are an actual company or organization. For example, they will use real designs or slogans. They may also try to confuse you by creating a fake emergency or security notice. Because of tactics like those, it's sometimes difficult to see through phishing scams at first glance.


Always be wary of suspicious emails!

In most cases, LINE will make major announcements or share important information via its official website. If you suddenly get an unfamiliar email, don't open any links without first checking LINE’s official website (linecorp.com) for more information.

If you do happen to open any links, make sure you do not enter your email address or password, to avoid having your information stolen. Close the suspicious website without entering any information. 

You may also be asked to enter information besides your email address or password, like your phone number or a verification code. If you enter all the information asked for, you could risk losing your LINE account and fall victim to a scheme designed to steal your money. 

In addition, if you use the same email address and password combination for LINE with other services, your accounts with those services could also be at risk when you lose your LINE account. 

If you do happen to enter your email address or password on a suspicious website, we recommend contacting LINE via our Inquiry Form just in case.


Help us fight phishing scams!

Since phishing scammers operate subtly through emails, text messages, fraudulent search results, and fake websites, you won't know your information has been stolen until the damage is done.

If you receive a suspicious email from someone pretending to be LINE, please forward it to the following email address as-is.

Phishing scam reporting email
dl_pm-report@linecorp.com
(Note: This email address is only for receiving emails and cannot make replies.)

At LINE, we're working hard every day to make sure your LINE experience is the safest and most secure possible.

Stay safe out there!

Thank you very much for your continued use of LINE.

As part of LINE’s security reinforcements, we’ve introduced notifications on your smartphone that show up as LINE chat messages when you log into the PC version of LINE or the LINE Store. This feature allows you to quickly see when someone you don’t know is trying to use your LINE account to log in on a PC, etc.

When do you receive notifications?
・When someone is confirmed to have logged in or failed to log in using the PC version of LINE.
・When someone is confirmed to have logged in or failed to log in through the LINE Store.

When either of the above cases has occurred, you will receive a chat message that looks like the following from an account named “LINE” on your smartphone. As this “LINE” account is a special account operated by LINE in other to strengthen the app’s security, you will receive the notification automatically even if you are not friends with the account as soon as either of the above cases is confirmed. 
LINE

 
Read more


If you are tired of receiving unpleasant messages or spam while chatting to users you have not added as friends, you can now simply press the Report button in the chat-room to send us a report. This new feature is available on the iPhone version of LINE which was released earlier today (Ver.3.4.0).


▼How to send a report
1. You receive a message from a LINE user who is not a friend
*If you have already added the user to your Friends list, you cannot use the Report function. Please use the Block function instead. 
 
2. Tap Report and select why you have sent us a report from any of the 4 options. 
*Once you send us a report, the staff here at LINE will look into the account you have reported to check for spamming etc. In order to allow the LINE team to do this, the last 100 messages from that user, as well as the user’s details will be sent to us. 
 
3. Tap Agree and Send. You will then be given an option to block the user. 

And that’s it!

At LINE we are dedicated to providing you with a safe and enjoyable environment for all your communication needs! We hope you will make full use of this new function!