LINE makes it a policy to regularly update and change various specifications in order to maintain its high security standards.
Therefore, we have devised a new system to replace the PIN-based system that was introduced in 2014 to carry over your LINE account to a new device starting with Japan, Taiwan and HongKong.
When you upgrade to a new smartphone or otherwise change your device, it is necessary to carry over your LINE account to the new smartphone in order to retain all of your account data.
If you switch to a new device without carrying over your LINE account and create a new account using the "Sign up" option, your old LINE account will be deleted, causing you to lose your friends list, groups, purchased stickers, and other information. Therefore, people looking to change devices should read the following information before switching to a new device.