LINE makes it a policy to regularly update and change various specifications in order to maintain its high security standards.

Therefore, we have devised a new system to replace the PIN-based system that was introduced in 2014 to carry over your LINE account to a new device starting with Japan, Taiwan and HongKong.

When you upgrade to a new smartphone or otherwise change your device, it is necessary to carry over your LINE account to the new smartphone in order to retain all of your account data.

If you switch to a new device without carrying over your LINE account and create a new account using the "Sign up" option, your old LINE account will be deleted, causing you to lose your friends list, groups, purchased stickers, and other information. Therefore, people looking to change devices should read the following information before switching to a new device.

How to carry over your LINE account

Step 1: Prepare your account to be carried over.  
 ↓
Purchase a new smartphone.
 ↓
Step 2: Carry over your LINE account to your new smartphone.


Step 1: Prepare your account to be carried over.
Be sure to confirm the following three items before switching over to a new device.


1. Your email address registered on LINE

- Make sure that the email address you registered on LINE is still valid. Here's how do to so.
- Be sure to register your email address if you have not already done so.
 
2. The password registered along with your email address
- Your password is used as a set along with your email address.
- For security purposes, the password you created is not displayed. Access this page if you have forgotten your password.  
 
3. Enable the account transfer process (Done on the day you switch to a new device) NEW!
If your phone number will change after switching devices, or if you log in with Facebook and will be changing to a new smartphone, you will need to enable the "Allow Account Transfer" setting on your previous smartphone.

How to enable account transfers


Go to Settings > 2-step Authentication and turn on the "Allow Account Transfer" option. Please note that you must carry over your account within 24 hours of enabling this setting.
If you wait longer than 24 hours, you will need to enable the setting again.
1 

*Due to changes in the account carry over procedure, your PIN is no longer needed from February 2016.

This completes Step 1!
Once you have completed the switch to your new smartphone, proceed to Step 2.

Step 2: Carry over your LINE account
to your new smartphone.
Once you obtain your new smartphone, use the email address and password confirmed in Step 1 to carry over your account.

If your phone number will change after switching devices, or if you log in with Facebook and will be changing to a new smartphone, you will need to enable the "Allow Account Transfer" setting on your previous smartphone.
1 

1. Install and launch the LINE app on your new smartphone. Tap on "Log in."
If you mistakenly tap on "Sign up" without registering your email address as detailed in Step 1, a new account will be created for you without carrying over your information, causing you to lose your friends list, groups, purchased stickers, and other information. Please note that deleted data cannot be recovered.


2. Enter your registered email address and password.
 
3. Enter your phone number, followed by the 4 digit verification code that sent via text message.
Your account has been successfully transferred!

4. The following screen will be displayed if you have not turned the "Allow Account Transfer" setting on, regardless if you’re are trying to carry over your account to a new device along with a phone number change or carrying it over by logging in with Facebook.
2
If you are still able to use your old smartphone, after going to Settings > 2-step Authentication and turning on the "Allow Account Transfer" setting within LINE on your old smartphone, tap Continue in LINE on your new smartphone and begin the transfer process again.

 
Or, you can tap "Get Verification Code" and enter the Verification Code sent to your old smartphone via text message and LINE.
 
If you are unable to use your old smartphone, please send a problem report via this form.
 
Data that can and can't be carried over
When you transfer your LINE account to a new device, only some data can be carried over to it.
 
Data that can be carried over
-  Your friend list (including groups)
-  Posts and albums
-  Profile info
-  Home and Timeline content
-  Your purchased stickers and themes
-  Your purchase history and Coin balance
-  Data for linked apps, such as LINE Games titles and LINE PLAY
 You will need to download your purchased stickers again by going to Stickers > My Stickers. You will not be charged for re-downloading your purchased sticker sets.
Data may not be able to be carried over in some cases. Please inquire with LINE Games or LINE PLAY for more details.
 

Data that cannot be carried over

-  Chat history (Please refer to the steps below for info on backing up your chats.)

-  Chat wallpapers

-  Notification tone settings

- Coins if changing OSes (Coins can be carried over if both the old and new devices run the same OS)

More information on Coins for use with LINE Games can be found here.


 
Backing up chats
Even when you carry over your account, your chat history will be deleted. If you have chats that you wish to save, you will need to save them before carrying over your account by using the following method. Please note that this is the only way to save your chats.

iPhone Instructions
1. Select the chat you want to back up and tap the "V" button at the top right (Chat menu) and tap Settings.
2. Select "Export Chat History."
3. Select "Send by Email" or "Send to Another App."
4. The chat will be attached as a text file when you open your email app, so you can send it to any email address you specify.

Android Instructions
1. Select the chat you want to back up and tap the "V" button at the top right (Chat menu) and tap Chat Settings.
2. Tap "Backup Chat History" and "Backup All" to save the chat.
If you select "Backup as a Text File," the chat will be saved to a text file like in the iPhone version of the app.
3. Once the backup is complete, "Import Chat History" will be displayed on the Chat Settings screen.
4. Tap "Import Chat History" when you want to import a chat into your new smartphone.
 
When switching carriers or to a new smartphone, be sure to use "Register Email" beforehand so you can continue to enjoy LINE on your new device!

For iPhone (iOS) users (Please note that using this feature is done at your own risk.)
Backing up the LINE app on iTunes will not carry over your account data with it.
In order to properly carry over your account, please follow the procedure listed above to use the "Register Email" feature.

However, by adjusting the settings within iTunes as per the instructions below, it may be possible to carry over your account and chat history when launching LINE on a new iPhone.
1. From the Backups tab within iTunes, select "iCloud" under "Automatically Back Up."
2. Next, enable "Encrypt iPhone backup" as well.

*Please refer to the link below for more information on carrying over LINE Games data. (Added on September 13, 2013)
http://linegameblog.jp/archives/32917518.html
*Please refer to the link below for more information on carrying over LINE PLAY data. (Added on September 18, 2013)
http://blog.lineplay.jp/archives/33123674.html